Skip to main content
2023 District Council Ordinary Election - Home

District Councils Brief

Functions of District Councils

The functions of a District Council of a District are:

  1. to be consulted by the Government on the district affairs affecting the livelihood and living environment in the District and well-being of the people in the District;
  2. to collect the views of the people in the District in respect of an issue specified by the Chairman of the District Council, and to submit to the Government a summary of the views collected and the suggested corresponding measures;
  3. to establish a regular communication mechanism with the people in the District, to meet with them and listen to their views regularly;
  4. to support, and assist in, the promotion of laws and Government policies in the District, and assist the Government in carrying out various consultation, publicity and liaison activities, such as district forum;
  5. to assist in the smooth delivery of cultural, recreational, environmental sanitary and other services relating to the interests of the people in the District under the coordination of the Government;
  6. to apply for funding for projects and activities relating to the functions of District Councils such as -
    1. projects and activities for the purpose of promotion of sports, arts and culture;
    2. local events and celebration events; and
    3. greening and volunteer work;
  7. to provide services for people in the District, such as consultation and case referral services;
  8. to cooperate with other consultation and service organizations in the District under the coordination of the Government to achieve the best results in serving the people in the District; and
  9. to undertake any other matters as commissioned by the Government from time to time.

Composition of District Councils

(with effect from the commencement of the seventh-term District Councils on 1 January 2024)

The composition of District Councils is defined in Schedule 3 to the District Councils Ordinance (Cap. 547).

Number of District Councils: 18

Number of District Council members: 470

  • 179 appointed members
  • 176 members to be returned for District Committees constituencies (“DCCs”)
  • 88 members to be returned for District Council geographical constituencies (“DCGCs”)
  • 27 ex-officio members (Rural Committee Chairmen in the New Territories)
Number of Members
District Council Total number of members Number of appointed members Number of members to be returned for DCCs Number of members to be returned for DCGCs Number of ex-officio members
Central and Western District Council 208840
Eastern District Council 30121260
Kowloon City District Council 208840
Kwun Tong District Council 40161680
Sham Shui Po District Council 208840
Southern District Council 208840
Wan Chai District Council 104420
Wong Tai Sin District Council 208840
Yau Tsim Mong District Council 208840
Islands District Council 184428
Kwai Tsing District Council 32131261
North District Council 248844
Sai Kung District Council 32121262
Sha Tin District Council 42171681
Tai Po District Council 228842
Tsuen Wan District Council 228842
Tuen Mun District Council 32131261
Yuen Long District Council 46161686
Total 4701791768827

Term of office of District Councils

The term of office of a District Council is 4 years. Each term of office of a District Council is to begin on 1 January next following an ordinary election.

First Term:1 January 2000 to 31 December 2003 (4 years)
Second Term:1 January 2004 to 31 December 2007 (4 years)
Third Term:1 January 2008 to 31 December 2011 (4 years)
Fourth Term:1 January 2012 to 31 December 2015 (4 years)
Fifth Term:1 January 2016 to 31 December 2019 (4 years)
Sixth Term:1 January 2020 to 31 December 2023 (4 years)
Seventh Term:1 January 2024 to 31 December 2027 (4 years)